SSBG

A worldview is a set of claims that purport to be based on ultimate reality.

Who is Jesus?

Posted by ssbg on February 19, 2006

 from: http://www.endtimes.org/

Remember that Jesus himself is God, and always has been God. The doctrine of the trinity is a mystery, and very hard for us to understand, but the Bible makes it very clear that Jesus Himself claimed to be God. (See verses below) You can trust in Jesus, because He had the power to do everything that He said He would do, and He has the power now to present us before the throne of God, blameless, and without sin. He can do this, because He is God. His victory over sin was prophesied all the way back in Genesis chapter 3. Read and listen to the following verses of scripture:

The Old Testament predicted Him:

Isaiah 9:6 – “For a child will be born to us, a son will be given to us; And the government will rest on His shoulders; And His name will be called Wonderful counselor, Mighty God, Eternal Father, Prince of Peace. There will be no end to the increase of His government or of peace, On the throne of David and over his kingdom…”

The New Testament explained Him:

John 10:17-18 – “For this reason the Father loves me, because I lay down My life that I may take it again. No one has taken it away from me, but I lay it down on My own initiative. I have authority to lay it down, and I have authority to take it up again. This commandment I received from My Father.”

John 1:1 – “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God”

Philippians 2:5-8 – “Have this attitude in yourselves which was also in Christ Jesus, who, although He existed in the form of God, did not regard equality with God a thing to be grasped, but emptied Himself, taking the form of a bond-servant, and being made in the likeness of men. And being found in appearance as a man, He humbled Himself by becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross.

Colossians 1:15 – “And He is the Image of the invisible God, the first-born of all creation. For by Him all things were created, both in the heavens and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or rulers or authorities – all things have been created by Him and for Him. And He is before all things, and in Him all things hold together.

Titus 2:11-13 – “For the grace of God has appeared, bringing salvation to all men, instructing us to deny ungodliness and worldly desires and to live sensibly, righteously and godly in the present age, looking for the blessed hope and the appearing of the glory of our great God and Savior, Christ Jesus”

Hebrews 1:3 – “God, after He spoke long ago to the fathers in the prophets in many portions and in many ways, in these last days has spoken to us in His Son, whom He appointed heir of all things, through whom also He made the world. And He is the radiance of His glory and the exact representation of His nature, and upholds all things by the word of His power. When He had made purification of sins, He sat down at the right hand of the Majesty on high;…”

Hebrews 1:8 – “But of the Son He says, “Thy Throne, O God, is forever and ever…”


How many can be called ‘Alpha and Omega’, ‘First and Last’?

Isaiah 44:6 – “Thus says the Lord, the King of Israel And his Redeemer, the Lord of hosts: ‘I am the first and I am the last, And there is no God besides Me.'”

Revelation 1:8 – “I am the Alpha and Omega, says the Lord God, who is and who was and who is to come, the Almighty”

Revelation 22:13 – “I am the Alpha and Omega, the first and the last, the beginning and the end” v16 – “I Jesus have sent my angel to testify to you these things for the churches…”


The Great “I AM”

Exodus 3:13 – Then Moses said to God, “Behold, I am going to the sons of Israel, and I shall say to them, ‘The God of your fathers has sent me to you.’ Now they may say to me, ‘What is His name?’ What shall I say to them?” 14 And God said to Moses, “I AM WHO I AM”; and He said, “Thus you shall say to the sons of Israel, ‘I AM has sent me to you.

John 8:58 – “Your father Abraham rejoiced to see My day, and he saw it and was glad.” 57 The Jews therefore said to Him, “You are not yet fifty years old, and have You seen Abraham?” 58 Jesus said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, before Abraham was born, I am.” 59 Therefore they picked up stones to throw at Him; but Jesus hid Himself, and went out of the temple.

Picking up stones meant that He had blasphemed. It was NOT blasphemy to state that he pre-existed. The Jews understood what He was saying. He claimed to be the “I AM” of Exodus 3. That was blasphemy, punishable by stoning.


Jesus Christ must be accepted for who He is. Anything less is to deny Him. The Old Testament claimed that He would be God. He himself claimed to be God. The New Testament writings claimed very clearly that He is God, by saying that Jesus Himself created the universe. Of course, being one with God it is also true that God the father created the universe. Only the mystery of the trinity can explain this.

Leave a Reply

 
